PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanlaurel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 31, 2015
I am still a novice. I have not been smoking for 8 months yet. I have finished a whole tin of Escudo. Although I admit that I have had a few glimpses of how this stuff can be good, I confess that I still don't really "get it".
How do you smoke this stuff? Do you fold and stuff? Or do you rub it out? Do you dry it? Or do you smoke it right out of the tin? What kind of pipe is it best in?
I know that many people rank this among their favorites. Why do you like it? How would you describe the taste when it is hitting on all cylinders? I know that it can be harsh and bitter when I do it wrong and sweet and spicy when I'm doing better. How it it supposed to taste?
I am not going to open a new tin right away although I have a few in my cellar. I am having more success with other blends right now so I am going to wait a while. In the meantime I was hoping to get a survey of why people like this stuff and how they prepare and smoke it.

fordm60

Dec 19, 2014
Not to bad mouth a popular blend, but I do not get it either. But I will be reading any tips given. It would be nice to pick up some flavor from it!!

Reactions: wadewright

voorhees

Lifer
May 30, 2012
Gonadistan
I have always done the "fold and stuff" method. I do on occasion take the remnants(broken flakes) and fill a bowl that way. Both are enjoyable. Smoked slowly and sip.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com