PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

derekz

Lurker
Apr 28, 2015
Okay. So I'm a total newb with this pipe thing. I bought a Dr. Grabow Royal Duke pipe, pipe cleaners, pipe filters, 4 different brands of pipe tobacco, and a very strange tool that looks like a pocket knife that has a blunt metal end.

But I think the pipe stem has to be removed to install a filter and I don't know how to do that. It's not an expensive pipe but I don't wanna break it.
Atm, all I know is that the bowl has to be only half full for the 1st few weeks. And for the next four weeks, I need to alternate between half and full bowls to provide a carbon layer as thin as a dime. But hey, that's all I know at this point.

So, a few things I need to learn about:
1. Do I need to clean the pipe first and how is that done?

2. How to put the filter in the pipe.

3. How often should I clean the pipe?

4. Do I need any special chemicals to clean it with?
I really need help with this and, trust me, I totally do appreciate any help anyone can offer.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
Welcome derekz! The pipe's filter is definitely within stem and shank and the pipe comes apart for access and for cleaning.

Holding the pipe's bowl in one hand and the stem toward the center where it's strongest, firmly twist the stem like it was a screw, in one direction, not back and forth...and gently pull as you twist.

Most of us eschew the filters, but they can smooth out your first couple of bowls.

Cleaning is never done with chemicals. Alcohol or spirits with cotton swabs for inner shank cleaning after many smokes..but generally a pass from stem to bowl with a cleaner and a swipe of the inside with a tissue to get the ash out...I always blow out the stem to the bowl before filling my pipes...just to be sure it's clear.

I think the carbon layer will work itself out and that it's not a big deal.