How Do I Tell When The Smoke Is Truly Finished?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonguebitepipecleaner

Might Stick Around
Apr 26, 2013
Hi there guys, big hello from Ireland, I kind of have a novel problem; when smoking a cigar or dare I say it, cigarette, it's easy to tell by eye when you've physically reached the end of your smoke, be it butt or nub. With a pipe you have no judgement by eye as to where your tobacco has burned down to and its harder to gauge. I've been 15 minutes or so into a smoke and found myself thinking ''hmm, I wonder is there actually tobacco still burning here or is it just char and coals I'm relighting?'' It's hard to tell by taste for me as I'm a newbie. any little tips are appreciated, cheers.

dervis

Lifer
Jan 30, 2012
Hazel Green AL
Pipe smoking is just about enjoyment. If you are done, you are done. Even if it was coals and ash , if for some reason you like setting them on fire and smoking them then go for it.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
tonguebite, you get clear signals from your pipe. First, most of us relight at least once or more as we smoke a bowl,

and that involves tamping the tobacco down with a tamper, pipe tool, pipe nail or (my dad's favorite) a finger. You

can feel if there is some tobacco left each time you tamp it. When you get down to a third of a bowl, unless it's a

giant pipe, that's usually about the end of the tobacco. Sometimes that little fraction of a bowl won't relight, or

won't stay lit. Don't be cheap; give it up! Also, toward the end of a bowl, you'll often get a little bite even with

a smooth blend, so that's a good signal too. Nonetheless, I'm often surprised to discover how little burnable tobacco

is left. Often, there is almost no dottle (unburned tobacco, not ash). A lot of this pipe smoking is just practice.