PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

randelli

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 21, 2015
I am fairly new to pipes; but I often wonder how pipe shapes get their names. I mean, some are easy to see because they look like the name - apple/pear/egg, but others must have some historical or geographical reason.
Take a billiard. One of the most common and recognizable shapes; but what makes it a billiard? It does not look like a billiard ball. What about a poker? Or an author? Or the canadian/lumberman/liverpool/lovat shapes? Other interesting shape names are the cutty, rhodesian, and what the neck is a calabash anyway?
Please enlighten me.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
A Calabash is named after the gourd used to fashion the originals. The Lovat was supposedly favored by one of the Lords Lovat. A poker, I have heard, was useful for sitting on the table while attending to your hand of cards. Etc, etc. The stories are legion, and usually highly disputable!

simong

Lifer
Oct 13, 2015
UK
Good question randelli, I'm impressed by such a question from one so young as yourself. The only one I'm 100% sure of is the lovat.

Better known in these parts (Great Britain) as a colonel Henry Fraser. He was as his name suggests a colonel in the Coldstream guards (Scottish Borders).

Having excelled at charging the enemy with spears,gusto & the queens colours, her majesty bestowed upon him the title, Lord lovat.

randelli

Nov 21, 2015
I'm impressed by such a question from one so young as yourself.
Full disclosure: I am slightly older than my avatar would suggest ;)
Poker sounds plausible. I can now check calabash and lovat off of my question que - thanks

Oom Pauls were named after the guy in Africa that coined the pipe. If I remember correctly.