PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

markus

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 18, 2014
Bloomfield, IN
I'm kinda new at smoking a pipe. I've been smoking a pipe consistantly (1 or 2 times daily) for about 3 weeks now I think I'm finally starting to get the hang of it, except for this one pipe. it's a new Bjarne Viking Classic and I swear this pipe is contrary as hell. No matter what type of tobacco I put in it, either it smokes hot as hell, or it won't freaking stay lit beyond a few puffs. Maybe it's me, but I wonder. None of the rest of my pipes behave like this one, they are all pretty well behaved and smoke as I would expect. The Bjarne Viking will start at "won't stay lit" so I puff on it to get a good cherry, and then its goes straight to "hot to touch" so I slow down to a sip and the damn thing dies after 2 or 3 light puffs, very frustrating. This is a fairly new pipe, do you think it might be the lack of cake in the bowl?

Do you think the hole may be to small?

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Welcome to the forum. Some pipes are blend dependent at times. Flakes may be great in a pipe that can't handle ribbons very well. When many of hear your issue the first thing we tend to focus on is packing. Some blends can be packed tightly while others demand a looser pack.

What are you smoking? That could help us with further advice....maybe. I have a Charatan that is a big nice pipe that no matter what I do will get very hot. Sometimes that's how things go.

iamn8

Lifer
Sep 8, 2014
Moody, AL
Have you considered that perhaps it's your attitude? Sometimes pipes do such things out of spite. Treat them nice, baby them, whisper sweet nothings, maker her feel wanted and appreciated and it'll all be good.

:wink:

markus

Mar 18, 2014
Bloomfield, IN