PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavendish

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2013
Just wondering how many of us on here actually do this at home. I'm sure quite a bit as drinks always pair well with pipe and/or cigars.
I'm just getting into the hobby of home brewing myself. I have a 5wk batch of Merlot that has 4wks to go, a batch of Hard Cider (made with Allen's Apple Juice and Cooper's Ale yeast) that is in it's settling/clarifying stage. And I also have a batch of Apfelwien brewing along in anoter pail. All my batches are 3 gallon as I'm using 4/75 gallon pails. I have never done anything like this before and I thought there was more to it but there itsn't it is SO simple to make great tasting drinks at home. This fall I will be starting a traditional wine (no yeast, just juice and sugar)from fresh grapes or fresh pressed unpasturized juice. Living close to Niagara Region I have the option of several different kinds of quality grapes and juices.
Of course a post on this forum rarely goes without a few questions attached to it :P

I'm just wondering if anyone on here does wine in the old fasioned way of fresh juice/grapes and what is involved with that aspect of wine making. There isn't alot of info on the net about traditional wine making that explains any troubleshooting or failure rate of doing it that way but there's enough to give someone 'the bug'. Basically I don't want to spend a couple hundred bucks on juice/grapes only to have it turn into vinegar.

So if anyone could school me, guide me or maybe hint at a few tricks and tips that would be great. I'm not one to delve into something and not follow through or not follow instructions. If I do something it's 100% or not at all so don't worry, any words and wisdom will not go to waste :)
Also any info about home brew grain beers would be awesome too! Being German background I love beer and wine and espically hard ciders and apfelwein.

twangthang

Can't Leave
Sep 15, 2012