PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

doughboi

Lurker
Apr 24, 2014
So I'm off abroad in just over a month, and even though I'm new to the hobby, I'd like to take it with me! My question to you is - when you travel (either abroad for relaxation or on business) how many pipes do you take? Obviously I know about resting the pipe between smokes and rotation, but then you also have the issue of how much luggage you can take! Please don't tell me that some of you chaps travel with a pipe rack and cellar jars! Haha...anyway, be interesting to hear from you!

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
I've never taken mine abroad, or even on a plane for that matter. But generally, I take about 7-10 pipes with me on a week or less trip, and 2-4 different tins/jars of tobacco.

I'm planning on going on another cruise next year, so that will be my first time taking them abroad. The last few times I went out of the country, I was primarily a cigarette/cigar smoker.

latbomber

Part of the Furniture Now
May 10, 2013
When traveling I take one of my "solid" pipes, usually a Peterson and a single tin of tobacco. It fits in my coat nicely and if something happens I wont lose a large amount of tobacco or an expensive pipe. Never had issues at airports or anywhere else.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
If I'm gone for a week, I pack a 4-pipe bag and rotate thru them. I put tobaccos back in their tins (from mason jars) as I don't like to fly with a baggie of unnamed tobacco. I take my zippo cases in my carry on, but put the Thunderbird inserts (2) in a ziploc in my checked bag. My pipe bag stays with me.

sailorjeremy

Can't Leave
Feb 25, 2014
Virginia