Hi All new guy with a tobacco question - What do you think of this label?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

120 Fresh Peterson Pipes
12 Fresh Ser Jacopo Pipes
New Cigars
36 Fresh Nørding Pipes
23 Fresh Bruno Nuttens Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shikano53

Lifer
May 26, 2015
First, Hello to all on the forum. I'm new to pipe smoking. I live in Central Alberta, Canada and my daily pipe is a VAUEN Meerschaum lined. I started with a Brigham but the Meerschaum lined is so nice it has become my favorite pipe.
Anyway, as any newbie I'm trying tobaccos. I get a sample and smoke the entire sample before trying something else and try to distinguish flavor and aromas at varies points of the bowl. What an adventure!

I have included a picture I took of the bulk jar label of one of the two tobaccos I decided to start with. Tobacco here in Central Alberta is very expensive. 10 grams of this cost me $10.00. I asked the salesperson at the smoke shop I have bought my pipes and meager accessories from if they blended this themselves and what proportions. I didn't really hold out any hope that they would tell me how or how much of this or that they used to blend it and I was correct. The sales person was very elusive and that's cool with me. I get it. But she did say they bought bulk tobacco from a number of different places and then put together this stuff.

Now I have been doing a lot of reading and researching and this is my take on what they are selling. I really like this tobacco. Of course I don't really have much of a baseline. But looking at the ingredients and comparing to what I think is close from 4noggins and SmokingPipes.com; I think this is real close to a Captain Black Royal or a Lane Limited 1Q
I generally smoke two bowls a day. I'm 61 and never smoked a day in my life until last week. I can see going up to 3 bowls a day as my enjoyment increases. You can see how expensive that would be at $10.00 for 10 grams.