PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 30, 2014
wv
O.K. fellas, I know I will catch hell for this post, but here goes... I have been smoking a pipe since 1995, and a lot of people say aromatics are for beginners. Guess what, I still smoke aromatics. I have tried to branch out to English blends and a few others. I do like some burly blends. Im not into the cherry and vanillas. My go to smoke is black bourbon. Its not to sweet. I have tried several Dunhill blends. I wasted another $15 on some Dunhill Early morning pipe. It tastes like campfire ashes. So here is my Question: Is there something in between aromatics and English blends? I wont mind trying some stronger stuff as long as it doesn't have that housefire taste. Let the contempt commence. :)

yorkshirepipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 26, 2012
I've been in the hobby for 5 years and I still like aromatics too - I think there is a gap between aromatics and english blends, more tend to be known as non-aromatics. You can also get Aro-english, but I'm not sure what they entail, if I've spelt it correctly!
I would recommend going for either straight virginia blends, such as Full Virginia Flake, or maybe a bit of a mix between the two, Chocolate flake has some latakia in it and so isn't your usual aromatic nor is it there as an english blend - both of those by Samuel Gawith. If you're in the states then others will be able to recommend more I'm sure!

tamer291

Can't Leave
Jun 26, 2013
I still enjoy aromatics as well. You like what you like. I do however smoke Frog Morton Cellar or H&H Anniversary Kake. But my "go to" smoke is always an aromatic.

apatim

Can't Leave
Feb 17, 2014
Jacksonville, FL
Taste is so subjective - what others often love, I detest. I'm finding that I just have to try different blends and see what works for me. I have several I'll be giving away soon, I think.

Jan 8, 2013