PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kamikaze

Lurker
Sep 12, 2016
I'm considering buying an estate Butz Choquin Calabash online. The seller admits he isn't a pipe expert, and I was wondering if there's anything specific I should ask or look for. I have no experience with Calabash pipes at all.
Thanks in advance.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
My concerns would be the gasket's condition and yes, seller's rating and return policy. Other than that, fit and finish. I'm not personally familiar with Butz, pressed or block meer bowl, honest to goodness gourd?

kamikaze

Lurker
Sep 12, 2016
The pipe has already gone above what I could afford to pay for it, but here's the link. It looks like the gasket is intact, but I don't know enough to know about the bowl. I do think it is gourd, but again I am not sure.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/272378099465

shaintiques

Lifer
Jul 13, 2011
Georgia
Most nice Calabash pipes go for around $100. That one didn't look so good. The cork inside looks cracked to me and not sure what the black spots are on the outside of the bowl but that would give me pause.

shutterbugg

Lifer
Nov 18, 2013
Looks like a POS to me. Gourds are quite absorbent...good for smoking, bad for sitting around in someone's garage or attic for decades getting moldy. I buy estate pipes, but only from reputable dealers who have had them cleaned professionally. That would be especially true of a gourd calabash. I bought one off fleabay years ago and although it looked good it stank and was unsmokable. I gave it the alcohol-and-salt Tx and the friggin bowl cracked right down the center. Superglued it, smoked it, figured it would fall apart once the glue got hot. To my pleasant surprise the crack disappeared. I guess the meer welded itself together. It's one of my favorite pipes now, although a PITA to smoke as I have to hold it all the time, too heavy to clench.

kamikaze

Lurker
Sep 12, 2016