PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

steelman

Might Stick Around
Jun 17, 2012
I am a relative newbie when it comes to pipe smoking. After self-education and trial & error, I can finally smoke my pipe without much trouble now, and I want to make the leap to flake tobacco.
I am ready to purchase a pipe specifically for VA flake tobacco. My question....is there a shape that best accomodates Flake tobacco? I prefer large pipes for my English blends, but my understanding is that the larger bowls aren't the best shape for the "fold & stuff" method preferred by flake smokers. I also want a pipe specifically for VA blends.....
I was considering a Castello Lovat for this task.......I currently use Savinelli Autographs in XL size (I like something to grab onto..so I prefer larger bowls).
I'd appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks,

Ron

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
For flake pipes I prefer a certain size not so much a shape. I like my flake pipes to be a group 5-6 as the biggest and group 4 the smallest. I use a pipe with nice thick walls because flake can burn a little hotter.
I use many shapes for flake, apples, billiards, free hands. My Winslow apples are particularly great for flake.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
I don't smoke a whole lot of flake tobaccos.

But, I have found that a very small bowl works best for me.

One that is basically the size of the tip of my little finger.

I'm sure you'll get a number of different opinions...

This is just my humble opinion.
I'm posting these photos so you can get an idea of what size I'm talking about.

IMG00246.jpg

IMG00247.jpg

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
I cannot comment here I believe because I rub out my flakes and layer them. If I were to smoke em as flakes, I think a small bulldog or billard would be a nice choice.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida