PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nerval

Lurker
Jul 3, 2012
Greeting! I'm a newbie for pipe smoking(about 2 months)and i think I'm still at the frenzy phase, e.g. spending my limited money on this mark of pipe and that blend of tobacco, and regret afterwards. Weeks ago, i found this forum and really like it, I learnt so much from you. while I'm reading theads after theads I'm often talking to myself---only have you asked these guys first!! so, this time, I made up my mind to ask advice from masters before I pull the triguer. The thing is, I have some money that allows me to buy a Stanwell featherweight 243 which I drooled over about a month,but after a second thought, since I've cooled down a little during the waiting, I got the idea that maybe a Stanwell Nanna Acorn is really worth the money. The Acorn cost about 20 more dollar than the featherweight, but I think I can wait and save a little for it. Now what torturing me is that I'm a clencher, I like my hands free during smoking, this Acorn appears a bit heavy to me judging from the picture.(I bought a Savinelli Aligator 804, it's a heavy failure for me, i don't think our marrige will last long). is the Savinelli failure is due to its design? could you give me some advice?( there's no pipe store in my town, so I cannot compare them in my hand)

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
Welcome aboard. I first am no master, nor do I own either pipe you ask about, I do however have a stan 191, which looks unbalanced and heavy but its quite comfortable and possibly my favorite pipe. I have an hour fifteen min commute each way to work and I clench that one most of the way..no problem. This may also be true for the acorn, course it also might not but they are somewhat similar.

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012
Hi nerval, welcome to the forum!