PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bcirka

Lurker
Aug 28, 2012
I'm not necessarily new to pipe smoking. I did it in college a bit, but really just smoked whatever tobacco was around. I have very little knowledge of the types of blends and what they taste like. If you would, I'd like a recommendation as to what types to sample and any brands of that type. Sampler packs are a plus since it allows me to try them while staying price conscience (since I tend to be an infrequent smoker).
From what I understand, there are 3 main types:

English (No additives; Usually contain Latakia)

Aromatic (Contains sweeteners and other additives; tend to smoke wet)

Virginia (Burn hot)
I assume there are many subtypes, but I will respect your recommendation on which types to consider as this point as I explore the gamut of pipe tobacco.
Really appreciate the help. Thank you.

mluyckx

Lifer
Dec 5, 2011
Texas
BCirka, welcome to the forum. Enjoy, sit back and relax. We're usually a friendly bunch and don't bite ;-)
There are many, many types of tobacco and their taste will even vary depending on their preparation methods. I strongly suggest perusing the website and especially the "Ask GL Pease" sections. He regularly elaborates on one kind or the other.
In addition, this question comes up regularly on the forum as well. Here's a couple of links. So search for "Types" or "Tobacco Types" and you will find hours of reading pleasure ahead.

http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/help-information-overload-need-recommendations

http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/virginia-1 (lawrence's answer has some really good links there)
To answer more directly, most will agree in the following tobacco "types": Latakia, Turkish, Oriental, Perique, Virginia, Cavendish, Burley.
Finally, to have some really good info on this, here is a good article on wikipedia and one on its sister-site Pipedia