PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

panagiotis

Lurker
Sep 17, 2014
Hey guys you may remembered me xD. Anyways I finally got a pipe! I went to a local toabacco store and asked for a pipe for newbs and he recommended me me this:
2uh272t.jpg
It's a pipex d10.
Anyways. I tried it for 1st time today with a scandinavik white tobacco(man that smells good). And those are my problems...
1 It doesn't light up!!! I tried with matches but the matches just went out when I touched them with the tobacco...
2. I m a total noob at smoking in general so when I felt warmth in my mouth I thought it was the flame from the matches and not smoke lol...
3. I don't know if I packed the tobacco ok although I ve seen many vids on how to do it :/

kcvet67

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 6, 2010
You don't want to let the match touch the tobacco, hold it about 1/2" or so above and move it in a circle over the tobacco as you draw the flame gently into the pipe. Be sure that you haven't packed it too tightly, it should draw freely before you light it.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Here's video that my help. I've been using this technique for years and it works very well. Good luck.
http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=james+fox+video+on+packing+a+pipe&FORM=VIRE2#view=detail&mid=507238384667A3D04C64507238384667A3D04C64

james80

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 16, 2012
Dry the tobacco a little. Let is air dry for 20-30mins before smoking.
Remember the 1st light is a false light. Light tamp then light again.

irishjedi

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 31, 2013
+1 to james80...when I started, remembering to dry the tobacco a little helped tremendously.
Mike

panagiotis

Lurker
Sep 17, 2014
Ok...So now that I just got my pipe how often should I clean it? And also when I try to light it should I draw in large amounts of smoke or something? Also how many times a day/week is ideal for smoking a pipe?

kaboom

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 12, 2012