Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

lloydcole

Lurker
Jun 20, 2019
Hello from Western Massachusetts.

I'm Lloyd Cole. I'm a musician.

I'm returning to the pipe after a couple of years off. Frankly, pipe smoking isn't great for singing, but I'm not singing, right now, and I've missed it.

I became rather pipe and tobacco obsessive a few years ago and amassed far more pipes than I needed. In the sabbatical I sold most of them and now I have one for each day of the week. Mostly Italian. My best pipes are a Castello Old Antiquary that's maybe a lovat, a couple of Pease/Radice chubbies, and a lovely big Becker billard.

Given what's been going on in Syria, I wasn't overly surprised, but was still rather saddened to see that most of my favourite tobaccos from 2015 are no more. I was a Penzance, Frog Morton on the Town, and across the Pond smoker. Since returning, I've tried a few other blends and I'm enjoying Quiet Nights, Plum Pudding and Brebbia latakia flake. I have some Penzance I bit the bullet for on eBay but I think I might be joining the school that thinks latakia doesn't improve with age.

Any suggestions would be welcomed. I think I'll see if I still like Compton's Macedonian.

I have concluded, in the last couple of weeks, that I finally 'get' Virginias and I know why I don't enjoy mixtures with that leaf to the fore. If there are any members in my area who love Virginias, feel free to PM me, I have about 6 tins I won't be smoking that you're welcome to if you fancy a drive.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
Welcome, Lloyd.
I'm in Connecticut, but I've spent many years off and on in western Mass. Sorry to hear about the Virginias.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013