Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:  No tags yet. 

Hello from NC

(16 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

ibjones

Login to Send PM

Hello, I'm a newbie from NC.

I'm a cigar smoker but have 'dallied around" with pipes for many years. I recently started enjoying a pipe again. I have three that I've picked up over the years, a Missouri Meerschaum, A Savenelli small bowl briar, and a large bowl Mastro de Paja briar.

I look forward to reading thru all the info here and learning about pipes. I think I'm probably not doing it right and I have some questions I'll find the answers to.

I think from what I've read and understand I'm smoking my pipes to hot. I usually get a "toasted" or "burnt" feeling on my tongue or the roof of my mouth, which I guess is because the smoke is too hot.

I think I also don't know how to pack the bowl because I have to constantly relight my pipe every 2 or 3 minutes. From what I've read and think I understand, it's supposed to be loose near the bottom and tighter at the top but I just don't know how to achieve that.

I have a few bins of tobacco, OTC Prince Albert and Carter Hall and I prefer the Carter Hall to the PA. I also have some ziplock bags of some unknown blends I've purchased at tobacco shops over the years. Not because I know what I'm buying but because I like the smell of it in the jar.

Today I bought a little blend from the tobacco store that is called "Balkan Supreme" and I kind of like it. The guy said it was an English blend with a full body.

Having smoked cigars since the 90's I'm usually the one giving advice on blends and brands and sizes, but in the pipe field I'm the one needing the advice.

I guess I'm just a newbie who doesn't have a clue what he's doing when it comes to puffing on a pipe. My knowledge on how to smoke a pipe is limited to "put the tobacco in, light it on fire, and puff on it."