PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flyfish

Lurker
Nov 10, 2014
Hazelwood, MO
Hello I am pretty new to the world of pipes. My name is Ben, I live in the saint louis area, and I started messing around with pipes in 08 but got frustrated and wanted to quit smoking cigarettes so I just gave up all things tobacco. Fast forward to now and I have decided to pick my pipes back up. But I have to say I am still rather frustrated. I am having problems keeping the pipe lit, packing the pipe and seem to always inhale the tiniest amount of smoke no matter what I do. I really don't like the nicotine effect and would like to learn how to smoke my pipes and enjoy them, so any help would be appreciated as YouTube and Google leave me baffled.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
Take the surest route to success. Get a MM cob. Get some Carter Hall, or Prince Arthur or Sir Walter Raleigh tobacco and practice packing (loosely at first and more firmly as you fill), puffing...(just enough to keep it burning) and pacing the entire process.

mephistopheles

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 14, 2014
If you're going to follow through with learning the way of the pipe and you decide to take the cob route you should check out these bundles:
http://www.pipesandcigars.com/samplers/77028/corn-in-the-usa-i-gift-set/#p-114041

http://www.pipesandcigars.com/samplers/77048/corn-in-the-usa-ii-gift-set/#p-140355
Those two bundles are recommended to new pipe smokers pretty regularly and are held as good starter options for learning what's what.

lucky695

Apr 2, 2013