PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shawn622

Lifer
Jul 22, 2012
Mount Sterling, Ohio
I have this thing for that campfire like, Old leather note that you get from the English/balkan Blends. However none I try have a strong enough Latakia taste for me. I assume that taste comes from Latakia. I am still a newb. I have tried all the Newminster English blends, Larry's blend, H&H Cerberus, GH&C Balkan Mixture, PS Balkan supreme,H&H Magnum Opus, H&H Black House & B&B reserve. Maybe a couple of others. I think Cerberus is closest but still far from what I am looking for. Any suggestions?

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas
Just buy some pure Latakia and smoke it or add it to other blends. 3 Oaks Syrian is a nice puff o Latakia if you can still get it.

Aug 14, 2012
McClellends Blue Mountain, Full Balkan Reserve and 3 Oaks. They also make a blending latakia. You can add it to any tobacco that you consider latakia deficient.

barkar

Lifer
Apr 17, 2012
Nightwatch, old dog, 3 oaks, any frog mortons, star of the east flake....these are my main lat blends

physiognomy

Lurker
Aug 15, 2012
USA
Cornell & Diehl's Pirate Kake sounds right up your alley. I like this blend when I'm really craving a Latakia fix.

juvat270

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 1, 2011
Cornell & Diehl's DaVinci. Its something like 75% latakia.
Also look on Pipes&Cigars website under tin tobaccos. Go to McClellends and they have "blending" tins of latakia, perique, etc.

mlaug

May 23, 2010
Iowa
C&D's Billy Bud, a lat and cigar leaf blend with enough nic to kill a moose.

shawn622

Lifer
Jul 22, 2012
Mount Sterling, Ohio
TAD list noted. Priced that Pirate Cake and its really cheap by bulk. Never tried any of their tobaccos. Maybe I'll buy a half pound of it with my tobacco budget for the month.... Thanks fellas

shawn622

Lifer
Jul 22, 2012
Mount Sterling, Ohio