PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

vasc45

Lurker
Dec 3, 2017
Hi guys, I'm a newbie who just started enjoying (or trying to) the pleasure of pipe smoking.

I'm having the same problems every beginner has, but I understand that each case may have its own problems, so here's a detailed description of my two problems to see if anyone can help me out.
I have a Bazzanelli Briar 9mm pipe here at home. I also have a pack of Borkum Riff mixture of Bourbon Whiskey, which seems to be a really dry tobacco when I think about the other type I was using (I don't remember which tobacco it was, sorry).
The main problem I'm having is the bowl heating too much. I already lost the count of how many times I would light it, give five or six tries and just set the pipe aside and let it cool down. THe first two tris I give long "breaths", but the next ones are short and gentle, so as to let the tobacco burn gently.
But then the second problem kicks in: the tobacco does not stay lit. So I'm facing two problems right after the other--> not getting a safe and proper temperature and then having to let the fire die.
I have searched for many techniques, but none of them seems to work with me. The pipe gets too hot too soon, sometimes right after I lit it.
So help me guys, I understand there's technique involved, but I've never heard anyone explaining it carefully enough to beginners like me.
PS: I tried not to stack the tobacco too tight, and it seemed to work for a bit, though the high temperature continued to bother me.
Edited by jvnshr: Title capitalization (please check Rule #9)

deathmetal

Lifer
Jul 21, 2015
I already lost the count of how many times I would light it, give five or six tries and just set the pipe aside and let it cool down. THe first two tris I give long "breaths", but the next ones are short and gentle, so as to let the tobacco burn gently.
It sounds like you are doing it correctly...