PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas
This is my first whack at reviewing a tobacco. Please understand that I am a novice smoker and don't have a lot of experience to fall back on. Anyway, here goes...
Magnum Opus is part of the Marquee Series of Hearth and Home, blended by Russ Ouellette. According to the Tin, it's a Balkan Blend with some quality Orientals. From Pipes Magazine- According to blender Russ Ouellette, "The yellow is Virginia from the US and Bulgaria, the light and dark browns are Yenidje, Basma and Izmir. Latakia content is around 40% and the Perique is about 8% of the blend."
The first smell of the tobacco when I opened the tin was powerful and pleasant. I would assume that the smoky, peat-like smell was the latakia and I understand why folks say it can be overwhelming on its own. There was also a nice round sweetness to it, though. The fruitiness (presumably the Perique) was hanging out in the background somewhere. The smell was rich and deep and to be honest there were so many little flavors floating around the dominant earthy aroma like caramels, peppers, and even citrus that it is really hard to tell where one ends and the other begins. I remember thinking, "Man, this is deep. All tobacco should smell like this!"
It looked cool, too. There was every color from gold to black and many shades of brown. There were also various cuts of tobacco, from short and fat to long and stringy. It was drier than my usual EMP, which is OK because I tend to be a wet smoker anyway.
The conditions were an afternoon on my porch, where the temperature was about 95°, cooled by mist from the sprinkler, which was hydrating my garden. At first I only drank water so as not to muddle the taste. Later I had some of my favorite summer beverage, lemonade mixed with iced tea. I also smoked it in my recently cleaned-up Meer.