Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:  No tags yet. 

Having Some Beginner Troubles

(27 posts)
  1. louiezmich

louiezmich

Login to Send PM

Hello everyone,

I am new to pipe smoking and new to the site. I recently started pipe smoking because after a year of smoking cigars I wanted to broaden my smokes to pipes as well. I really have found it very enjoyable, the concept of having different pipes for certain tobaccos and how to pack, how to smoke, how to light, not to char the rim, different styles of pipes, different tobacco names, tobacco brands and so on and so on. It all is pretty overwhelming. But just like cigars the learning and hearing what other more experienced smokers have to say is the best part for me, sucking in all their wisdom and using it for a more enjoyable smoke.

But even with all the different YouTube videos and reading up on the forums my pipe smoking enjoyment is solely based on hope for a better smoke next time mentality. At the moment I have a pipe that came in a forty dollar gift set from pipesandcigars.com. I've smoked probably 10-15 bowls with it and every time I have the same problems. The aroma the smoke gives off is wonderful but the taste gives me tongue bite and none of the flavors anyone is saying on the tobacco reviews I read about the same kind I'm smoking. I tried packing a tighter bowl and that didn't work. I tried tamping less often but then my pipe just went out and I had to keep relighting.

I thought its because I have a cheap pipe but I don't know. I was thinking about using the new pipe i just bought, its a very nice bent brier pipe with a rustic finish on it but I'm worried my techniques are wrong and I will burn the rim and still not get any flavor out of my pipe. I guess, since I'm babbling on, what I am asking is for someone to walk me through their smoking rituals from packing all the way to cleaning at the end of the smoke and I can ask questions from there as to what I am doing wrong.