Pipes Magazine » Pipe Tobacco Reviews

Tags:   

Have you ever had a pipe blend that made you feel slightly ill?

(38 posts)
  • Started 2 months ago by kimwilltravel
  • Latest reply from chasingembers
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

kimwilltravel

Login to Send PM

I am new to pipe tobacco. Admittedly, I just enjoy smoking. I don't know the ins and outs, the jargon... nothing. I just enjoy my glass of wine and pipe at the end of the day.

Before I had kids, I smoked only cigarettes. I quit when we decided to start a family. That was over 20 years ago.

Make no mistake, I enjoyed smoking and missed it but did not want to be a smoker while raising children.

So at just over 50, I felt like I was free to smoke again. I had one rule that I didn't used to have though. There couldn't be any leftover waste to hurt the planet. I knew I didn't want to smoke cigarettes, so I picked up a couple of cigars. They were okay but not really what I wanted. So I bought some loose tobacco and papers.

That worked okay for a while but not great. It still wasn't hitting the spot. So I started adding herbs from my garden, mint, cedar, roses, cinnamon, dried blueberries chopped up from the kitchen. Sometimes I would wrap it in bok choy or rose petals as the taste of the papers began to bother me. These homemade 'cigarettes' were hitting much closer to home for me though. I was quite happy for quite a while with that.

Still, I was having to deal with papers that have an off putting side taste when I didn't have any appropriately dried leaves for wrapping. I also didn't like getting any kind of my mix in my mouth, which is inevitable to some degree. Finally I realized a pipe was what I needed. Eureka!