PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluegrassbrian

Your Mom's Favorite Pipe Smoker
Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
As a courtesy to my forum brethren, if anyone has a knife (pocket, edc, hunting, kitchen) that has gone dull and needs a shiny new edge feel free to send it to me.

I'm offering this service free of charge, aside from shipping costs to send it back to you.

I can also change edge geometry.

I have roughly 6 years experience putting laser sharp apexes on steel.. so shoot me a pm and let's get that knife screaming sharp again!
=]

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
Wow that's a really awesome offer! I however have become "good enough"at sharpening my knives. Knives area my favorite. Buck specifically. I have about 8 buck knives.

Mar 1, 2014
I've got this solid bar of S125V sitting here that needs sharpening, can you manage that?

(^ This is a sarcastic comment)
The best edge I've ever managed was just barely tree topping, apparently one of the highest levels of sharpness is being able to push cut two-ply toilet paper.

Lately I've just been hitting the Mediums and stropping, apparently if you can't at least get a shaving edge on your lowest grit then you need more practice.
Brian, do you have a test for the best sharpness that you've achieved?

Do you use sub-micron polishing compounds?

bluegrassbrian

Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
Fnord.. I cant do serrated blades at this time as I don't have the right rods. I don't personally own any serrated blades.
Pipesmokingtom..shoot me a pm. I'm willing to give them a shot.
Frozenchurchwarden.. for finishing I use 1 micron Hand American diamond spritz on my nanocloth strop surface.