PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nkourilo

Might Stick Around
May 21, 2014
I've been smoking & collecting pipes since 1980. I've always wanted my pipes to be more than just a delivery vehicle for tobacco. A pipe should make a statement, have a personal connection for the smoker. That, in my opinion, is the quintessential reason to smoke a pipe. In December of 2013, I started looking for a pipe to add to my collection. What struck me was the "sameness" of the pipes. Danish style freehands, Meerschaum Eagle claws & various busts...nothing spoke to me.

Then, while browsing on Ebay, I came across a pipe maker who did Meerschaum quality carvings in Briar. I contacted him about making a custom pipe. The two headed eagle Russian Crest. He told me he was busy but he loved the idea and agreed to do it. Today, the pipe arrived. Carved out of a single block of 50 year old briar with a genuine amber stem...Stunning!! I just finished smoking my first bowl as I write this. I was nervous about doing this but now, when I want to add a pipe to my collection, a "bespoke" pipe will be the only way I'll go. Just as with a bespoke suit, once you get one, nothing else will do.

966238_646038355481408_4660081353764263005_o.jpg

nkourilo

Might Stick Around
May 21, 2014
Thank you for the comments. As my father said, a pipe should be functional art Otherwise, you may as well stick with Cigarettes and cigars, lol

rangerearthpig

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 5, 2014
That looks like somthing Saint Michael would smoke! 8O Wow! What a work of art! I'd almost be afraid to light that beauty. How does it smoke?

nkourilo

Might Stick Around
May 21, 2014
I just finished my first bowl...Best smoking pipe I've got!! The draw is phenomenal!!

hodirty

Lifer
Jan 10, 2013
Wow, that is very intricate. Glad to hear it smokes well. I hope you enjoy that for a long time to come.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012