PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

skold91

Lurker
Jul 8, 2019
Hello everyone :)
My name is Sam and I'm from the UK.

I started smoking a pipe about a year ago when my Uncle gifted me a Charatan. However most of the time I'd rather smoke corncob! My favourite tobaccos are all plugs, ropes and some flakes. Not really a fan of ribbon tobacco and I never liked the Dunhill Nightcap that everyone seems to adore. I mainly like stronger tobaccos and not only did I find nightcap mild, I found it doesn't deserve the hype it gets! But then again I don't like English blends. I'm a big fan of Burley or dark fired burley.
Anyway... I've been browsing this site for a few months and it seems like a good community so thought I'd sign up.
Peace and happy smoking :)

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Anglophile here, living in California. Attended school in beautiful Hertfordshire lo these many years. (ie, a freaking long time ago).

timelord

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 30, 2017
Gallifrey
G'Day from down under (although I do have a wall world map that clearly shows Austrlia at the top and Blighty to be down under :rofl: )
Anyway, welcome

danimalia

Lifer
Sep 2, 2015
San Francisco Bay Area, USA
My favourite tobaccos are all plugs, ropes and some flakes. Not really a fan of ribbon tobacco and I never liked the Dunhill Nightcap that everyone seems to adore. I mainly like stronger tobaccos and not only did I find nightcap mild...
I really like those strong ropes and flakes myself. I've been exploring some of these tobaccos because I recently quit smoking cigarettes and need those blends that deliver plenty of nicotine. So far, my favorite is the Dark Flake Unscented from Gawith & Hogarth. And I kind of agree about Nightcap. I thought it was a bit astringent and muddled. But that's cool. Different strokes for different folks.
Welcome to the forum from the San Francisco area.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here