PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kane

Can't Leave
Dec 2, 2014
Hello folks,

I just joined this forum, my first post. My name is Cliff, I am from La Habra Heights, California. I am new to pipe smoking, but so far I am enjoying it a lot. I inherited my dad's pipe collection which is mostly Italian and Danish briars, some in pretty good shape and some fairly worn, lots with teeth holes in the stems. I remember my dad used to smoke tins of St. Bruno, but he stopped smoking pipes in the early 80's (continued with cigars for a bit after that but eventually gave up tobacco entirely). Seeing how Dad was smoking non-aromatic tobacco in these pipes I plan on doing the same and have tried some tins of Dunhill which seems quite nice.

It's nice to be here. This seems like a very good forum and place to learn and share about pipes.
I do have a few questions that have come up since I started to use these pipes:
1) Some of these pipes have a small amount of build-up in the bowl and look fairly new, and some have a thicker cake, which I have reamed down to about a dime's thickness (as I read was the thing to do). I have also run pipe cleaners soaked in Bacardi 151 through the stems to clean them up a bit, and then set them aside for a few days to air out. Is there anything else I should be doing before smoking them? They have been in storage for years, but the ones I am using are in good shape and dad had them stored in baggies in a box.
2) After smoking a bowl, what I have been doing is running a pipe cleaner through the stem and then leaving the pipe cleaner in the stem for a day, and then removing the pipe cleaner.