PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

connor

Lurker
Apr 18, 2013
Hi, I am new to the world of pipe smoking and I am looking into buying my first pipe . I like the look of straight stem pipes ( I think that's what it's called) such as the ones Aragon smoked in lord of the rings. Can anybody recommend a cheepish pipe of this style ?
Also I would just like to say hello to everyone

tokerpipes

Lifer
Jan 16, 2012
Eatonville, WA
Oh you are looking for a MacQueen pipe. I will warn you are going to get mixed feelings about them. I have one and love it.
Down side of them is the bowl gets very hot and they are a bit difficult to clean.

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
Greetings connor. Welcome to the forums.
Did you mean this pipe? http://www.lotrfanshop.com/lotrshop/pipes/rangerpipewdetachablestem.asp?ReturnPage=/lotrshop/pipes.asp
I'll defer to other, wiser, members of our community here, but would suggest that this looks to me like a dublin shaped bowl, with a slightly forward cant. The pipe might also be considered a "churchwarden" given the long length of the stem/shank.
Hope that helps
-- Pat

connor

Lurker
Apr 18, 2013
Yes that is the style I mean Thankyou. Although any straight stem/shank style would suit me but I'm on a students budget

tokerpipes

Lifer
Jan 16, 2012
Eatonville, WA
Might I suggest since you are new to the pipe wold to get a couple of standard strait stem basket pipes. For two reasons.
1) being new you really shouldn't get a pipe like that quite yet due to cost and frustration.

2) you should enjoy your piping experience. Learn how to clean and perfect your packing methods.
I had a friend go out and get one and got frustrated with it and up and quit even with words of encouragement.
Down the road consider it again for a future purchase. Not dashing hopes, just giving advise.

connor

Lurker
Apr 18, 2013
All advice much appreciated. It's what I'm here for to learn from people with knowledge

tokerpipes

Lifer