PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

timm2

Lurker
Aug 5, 2012
Hi All,
Just joined and am pretty excited!
Hope you all can help me, I'm new to this. Grandpa used to smoke pipes and boy did it always smell GREAT!
My question is: Are there any tobacco's out there that don't have nicotine and all the other harmful ingredients?

(Just a great smelling and tasting tobacco)
Thanks

Tim

gwtwdbss

Lifer
Jun 13, 2012
Welcome timm2. Most tobacco has a little bit of nicotine. Some more than others. Most quality pipe tobacco doesn't have near the non-tobacco carcinogenic ingredients that cigs have.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
This is a VERY simplified explanation, but virtually every blend uses either Burley or Virginia tobacco as a base (or a combination). These are opposites of each other. Burley smokes cool but is very high in nicotine, low in natural sugars and is mostly tasteless. Virginia burns much hotter due to the high amount of natural sugars, has much more flavor than Burley and has little or no nicotine.
Cheap drug store blends also use preservatives and other chemicals to preserve shelf life.
Experiment, but like wine, spirits or food, buy the best quality you can afford.

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas
What bigvan said. As long as you buy quality natural pipe tobacco, you minimize the risk of carcinogens and adjuncts. Certain blends have very little nicotine others will send you for a ride!

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Actually Uber, Per Jensen of MacBaren told me personally that blends like MB Vanilla Cream are "virtually nicotine free". We may quibble the meaning of "virtually" but I'll defer to Per.

auspipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 19, 2012
Australia