PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
The other day, I was moved up to cooking on the line at the restaurant. Today was my first day. It was a slow day, which was nice. It let me really get the hang of things. I've done plenty of cooking, but never on a line before. Over all everything went pretty smooth and nothing got sent back.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
It's an art, it's a science, it magic, and it's sustenance. My wife did restaurant reviews on Manhattan for years, and food writing after that. Learned to cook on the farm in northern Missouri. Learned much more as she reviewed and wrote about food and came to know many chefs, cooks, restauranteurs. Take care of your health, your feet, your blood pressure. Congratulations!

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
I've only ever worked in kitchens. Though this is my first time cooking on the line. I love this restaurant though. I spend more time there then I do anywhere else.

Jan 4, 2015
Massachusetts
I spent 10 years in food and beverage. It's a demanding business so keep your wits about you. Congratulations on your promotion. One thing for certain, a good cook can always find work. Learn all you can and never miss the opportunity to expand your skills. A very smart restaurant chain owner once told me "Always remember, they can buy that steak anywhere. Why are they going to buy it from you?" It's something I never forgot. It helps you stay customer focused.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
Congrats! :clap:
While still in school, I did prep cook, fry cook and finally line cook. Good times! :)

fnord

Lifer
Dec 28, 2011
Topeka, KS
Way to go, Ben.
I spent some formative years in my mom's downtown diner and then later worked over ten years in food and beverage. I loved every minute of it and hope you do as well.
Fnord

mranglophile

Can't Leave
May 11, 2015
United States