PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

papatoad

Lurker
Aug 24, 2012
Just thought I'd throw this out there...

I'm just getting into this pipe hobby and what an education it's been.
I'd like to know more about the estate pipes. I have NO idea what I'm doing

but I really like the 1/4 and 1/2 bent pipes. I don't care about the collectivity

of the pipe I'm just looking for a good smoker.
I have some briars and some pipes I made from Honey Locust (they seem to be OK)
I'd like to add a dark wood to the collection but don't know enough to look on ebay etc.
Anyone want to give a confused pipe wanderer some ideas?
By the way, I've already spoken to EJames...that man has serious class. What a Gentleman!
Thanks for taking the time to read this and hope some of you get a good chuckle....
Edit: Moved to PIPE TALK, L.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
The best rule for buying pipes (IMHO) is buy what appeals to your aesthetic sensibilities.

If you don't like the way it looks, it won't matter how good it smokes... You won't like it.

You can worry about drilling and the pipe cleaner test when you decide to venture into the so called higher grades.
The most important thing is that you like the way it looks.

Just like you, I used to buy only bent pipes, now almost exclusively straights.

Your tastes will evolve... That's when you know that PAD has taken its hold on you.

:puffy:

mrenglish

Lifer
Dec 25, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
Yes, Lawrence is 100% correct. Your tastes will change and evolve over time. I have been thru many phases in my pipe smoking career (both in tobaccos that I smoke and pipes I collect). That is part of the fun of pipe smoking, in my opinion.

Aug 1, 2012
Buying pipes early on is quite the journey. I am the odd one out here in that looks are secondary to smoking characteristics when I'm reaching for a pipe in my collection. There are some I hate to look at but they smoke so well I can't put them down.