Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

trubka2

Lifer
Feb 27, 2019
I really wanted a small blasted Dublin. I ended up picking these up on eBay the other day as a 2-pipe lot for less than I use to pay for a day's supply of cigs. GBD International 133. BBB Own Make Thorneycroft 507. I haven't been able to peg down a dating range for either. I gather that Internationals were squarely in the middle of the GBD grades, and Thorneycroft was the lowest BBB grade. Other than that, I know nothing about these two pipes. I'm just getting started on the cleanup, but they're coming along nicely. I can already tell that the stain on the GBD is really going to pop once I get done. I'm undecided on how much rim lava I'm going to take off the BBB until I get a feel for how it smokes. If I like smoking it and decide to keep it, I'm going to leave the lava as a protective layer. It's hard as a damn rock even after water rinses and the alcohol and cotton balls treatment. Any suggestions on what to do with the rim on the GBD would be much appreciated. So far, I've tried spit, brushes, cloths, paper towels, oil soap, and elbow grease. Maybe it's just supposed to be black and cruddy?
Before:

img_20190807_130309-600x450.jpg

During:

img_20190808_150114-600x450.jpg

GBD rim:

img_20190808_150501-600x450.jpg

dmcmtk

Lifer
Aug 23, 2013
Show me the MADE IN ENGLAND mark on the BBB. There was an "older" and a "newer" version of this marking. The Thorney croft wasn't a "low grade" pipe, just a sandblast. They are fine smokers. :)

trubka2

Lifer
Feb 27, 2019
Thanks, guys! I was just going off what I read on pipedia and rebornpipes. Here's a pic of the nomenclature on the BBB and a closeup of the bowl - really loving that blast already.
img_20190808_185132-600x450.jpg

img_20190808_152258-600x450.jpg

Sorry for the wonky pic orientation - I'm working on it.