PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

andya27

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 15, 2014
I received a sample of this fine tobacco today. Sliced some off the plug, let it sit for 15 minutes or so. Smoked it in my BC Bulldog.
Now, I understand that I'm new to tobaccos and pipes, but this Latakia blend doesn't smell anything like the other Latakia blends that I have - e.g. Frog Morton Cellar, Dunhill 965, London Mixture. I'm not complaining - it's just quite different, to my nose, anyway.
It seems every time I try a new tobacco it becomes my favorite. I have a few more new tobaccos that arrived with this sample, so perhaps tomorrow I'll have another new favorite. I do know this: my next order will include an 8 oz tin of Gaslight.
I did have some difficulty keeping it lit, however. Perhaps it needed to dry more, though it didn't smoke wet (or hot). And I packed the bowl very loosely.
Even with the re-lights, this was a wonderful smoke on a rather cool and windy Cleveland summer evening.

stbruno70

Jul 9, 2013
Greg's Gas Light is fabulous stuff that smokes slowly and calmly. Glad you are liking it.

sirbogglesworth

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 20, 2011
Thanks for the info andya27! I'm going to have to pick me up some of this stuff and try it out myself now. :D

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
Gaslight has quickly become one of my favorites. It does benefit from around an hour or so of drying time before loading. Nice BC you have there as well.

puffdoggie

Can't Leave
Dec 14, 2013
Got a sample of Gaslight from SP and the "tin note" is bloody awful. But I learned a long time ago the tin note can be far different from the tongue & room notes. So I'll rub some out, let it dry a little, smoke it up and see what folks are raving about. :puffpipe:

ruger414

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 25, 2014
United States