PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

redpanda

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 11, 2015
Hi everybody,
it's been awhile since I last checked in here. Been busy making the living. Anyways, today I finally got a long awaited package from UK, full of FVF. Now, I have read people say it benefits from some drying time, and others saying it is best smoked moist as is (and we all know how moist this stuff comes). I just read a review of a guy saying he smokes it straight from the tin, and any drying results in loosing the flavor. However, it isn't cheap, and I have had some bad experiences in the past, so I did let it dry for about an hour before loading. While delicious, I have to admit it was not an easy smoke. I had to suck on that pipe really hard. I did rub it, so it did not require many relights but it wasn't what my idea of a relaxed smoke is. So fellas, I know many of you love that blend. What is the best way to go about FVF ? Your advise is greatly appreciated. Thanks !

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
try drying it longer, I usually cube cut it before bed, load the pipe, and smoke it the next morning
if you're rubbing it out try drying it for 2 hrs, if that doesn't work try smoking it straight out of the tin.

eventually you'll find the right combo for you

oldreddog

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 4, 2014
Redpanda your probably grappling with one of the most difficult tobaccos know!

I find drying,cube cutting and gravity filling work well. I did see a video that suggested it was possible from the tin to roughly rub a flake and break the strands to half the bowl height stack them vertically and put another stack on top. I have not been brave enough to try this method. I would also say that FVF and full VA's are considered to be difficult for new Piper's to get. It's really only in the last six months or so that I have been enjoying them more and more.