From Aromatics to my First English... Suggestions Please!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dechuckie

Lurker
Apr 23, 2014
Greetings, all,
Last spring, as a complete Newbie, I posted to the forum asking all of you for your most highly recommended dry-smoking, aromatic blends. I got plenty of great suggestions, and as a result, I’ve been wandering my way through several 2-ounce tins of various Virginia, Cavendish, and burley-based aromatics. It’s been a fun journey, however, I feel like it’s time to expand my pipe-smoking horizons.
I’m now ready to make the leap into the world of English tobaccos… but where to begin?
I picked up a brand new, inexpensive board pipe from my local to B & M that I am dedicating solely to this English experiment. I also have a couple new cobs I could use, if necessary.
Now I just need a place to start…
Some questions to direct suggestions:
1. What was the very first English blend YOU liked? Do you still smoke it?

2. Do you smoke both aromatics AND English blends?

3. Do you have an all-time, every day favorite blend of either type?
Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.
Thanks so much!

billypm

Can't Leave
Oct 24, 2013
For an aro lover I can't think of a better on-ramp to English blends than Frog Morton's Cellar.

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
I smoke both aromatics and non. My first was Nightcap, this is distinct and strong, but very good. For a more everyday type smoke I really like Frog Morton Celler and Early Morning Pipe, both have their qualities that make them enjoyable. Be sure to try Virginias as well as English blends. I think a Virgina may be a better start as they have a natural sweetness to them most of the time.

ravkesef

Lifer
Aug 10, 2010
Cheshire, CT