PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackbeard

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 13, 2015
I am going to post quite a few pictures up, but I want to see others as well. This is my first time doing anything like this, but it seems to have worked so far and accomplished what I wanted. I broke a clay pipe, interestingly enough with a stinger in the stem, a small one. Threw the stem to the side, figured I would use it at some point. Well, recently picked up a Dr. Grabow Eldorado for $10 that had potential, but knew the stem was completely wrong. So, removed the (guess you still call it a tenon) from the stem it came with, removed the one from the old clay pipe drilled it out and swapped them. I heated the tenon and crammed it in the new stem, went in nicely and stayed secure. I used the closest washer I could find to make it hard for the stem to spin. I had to because the adjustomatic aspect much to my surprise still worked! It was turning just slightly easier to turn than the normal and the washer puts enough pressure to stop it. At first was skeptical of the white stem...but, wasn't going to be able to have it fixed, so wanted to get it where I can smoke it...and turned out better than expected.
If there are others who have added other bits and pieces together to make a new pipe that is out of what it's supposed to be...I would like to see pictures of yours as well, add to the forum.
Original Clay Pipe -

0914151512-00_zpsxd6wxevg.jpg

0914151511-03_zps8xwehbfu.jpg

Eldorado -

1005152117-00_zpscxyfdqar.jpg

1005152116-00_zpsmg4gp7ey.jpg

Frankenstein -

1005152119-00_zpslpcqznrc.jpg

1005152114-01_zpsbmwnbbre.jpg

1005152113-00_zpsykqwa1id.jpg

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Going to have to change your name to Dr. Frankenpipe if you keep that up. I like it!

blackbeard

Sep 13, 2015