PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

matts26

Lurker
May 17, 2012
I'm totally new to pipe smoking but have thoroughly enjoyed it so far. I only have two pipes right now and they are both Missouri Meerschaum cobs, ones a legend the other an original. After the first bowl or two in the legend it started tasting foul and after one bowl in the original. So foul that a hazelnut blend I was trying out was totally over powered by the foulness. Tonight I went and bought a small bottle of Everclear and used my pipe cleaners to dipped in it to clean the bowls and stems. Was this an ok idea or should I try something different next time? Thanks for any and all help!

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
If they r brand new mate, they should not taste foul. I suspect there may be some glue burning off or perhaps the extra on the shank, inside the bowl may be starting to char. Patience and all will go away in a few more smokes. Are you puffing too hard and heating them up too much?

cajunguy

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
Remove and check the stem. Is there a filter in there? Chances are, yes.
The general consensus is: toss the filter. You don't need it. After removing it, your cob should taste much, much better.

matts26

Lurker
May 17, 2012
It was more of a "relight old cigarette" foul. It does get fairly warm when I smoke it maybe I am puffing to hard? And I do plan to smoke it without the filter now.

matts26

Lurker
May 17, 2012
I just smoked my original after having cleaned it with alcohol a few hours ago and it was the best smoke i've had so far. I didn't use a filter but I did have a screen in. Only negative thing about the smoke was after I got about halfway thru it stopped staying lit for more then a moment, maybe i had the bottom layer packed way to tightly?

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada