PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

novicemaker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 12, 2014
Ok so i am new to all this, i have smoked a few cigs but not more then a pack worth in my life and i have smoked several cigars and a few black n mild type cigars.
So my question is what kinds of tobacco are there?

what is the difference between flake, chucks and what i am guessing is normal lose cut tobacco?

What is the best way to keep tobacco fresh? I have heard many ideas from ziplock bag with a little moist paper towel to having it sealed in a mason jar in the basement.
And last but not lest, what two types do you recommend most for a newly interested smoker to try? Kind of like a lighter, sweeter, and or gentler taste to a deep, dark, robust and or strong taste. that way newbies like my self can find out what to try from you all and see where our tastes lie.

salmonfisher

Can't Leave
Feb 12, 2014
As a newbie myself, I can only say that this site is a wealth of information.
Virginia's and Aro's would be my recommendation but I suggest you so some reading on the reviews section.
Just jump in, for a couple hundred bucks one can quickly amass a good range and depth of tobaccos...remember, ones you don't like now, can possibly become favs down the road.
Welcome to the finest hobby that exists. :puffpipe:

sean81

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 26, 2013
You can't go wrong with either Lane 1Q or Molto Dolce from Sutliff Privite Stock. A couple of other good aromatics that aren't too heavy can be found at Pipes and Cigars - Russ' Monthly Blend. I would suggest buying a couple of Missouri Meerschaum Cobs (they are really the best method to try new tobaccos) they are fairly cheap (around $5 per pipe). Welcome and good luck.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
Novice:
Welcome!