PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgunnar177

Lifer
Apr 5, 2012
United States
Hey all I'm curious to see how's many fly fisherman we have on here?

Iv been fly fishing for 8 years and am still learning the basics.

Cheers

Gunnar

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
I consider myself a fly fisherman, but I haven't fished in while. Still, I am sure I'll get back into it. I wasn't a great fly fisherman, but was okay. I studied a lot and fished a lot. It's a great sport - nothing like standing in a river with a strong rainbow jumping on your line.
I still have a nice Orvis rod and reel. I used to tie my own flies. I even took some instruction from Joan Wulff (Lee Wulff's wife) about 25 years ago in Roscoe NY (a required pilgrimage of any fly fisher). :puffy:

dochudson

Lifer
May 11, 2012
finally something I know a little about.. I've been fly fishing probably a little over 10 years or so. living in OH my usually destinations are MI, PA, WV and Smokey Mtn Park. But, I have as much fun just hitting the farm ponds around here and catching big Bluegill on a 3 or 4 wt rod and dry fly.

scottishjohn

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 17, 2012
Broomfield, Colorado
Been flyfishing for about 30 some odd years now. I used to tie my own flys, and teach fly-tying, but it has gotten to hard to do well; now that my eyesight is not what it was once. Still try to fish as often as I can find a friend to go with me. No more wading deep, but I still catch a few occasionally. Nice thing about Colorado is there is no "season". If the weather is good enough one can fish here any time of the year. It was probably nice enough to have gone today if I had thought of it in time! :puffpipe:

jwp159

Can't Leave
Jan 1, 2010