Tags:   
[closed]

Flu Shots, If You Will

(46 posts)
  1. mso489

mso489

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I know, some do, some don't. Arguments on either side. One of the most ardent refusals I've heard was from a senior scientist and erstwhile acting director of the National Institutes of Health who had worked on flu vaccines, so take that for what it's worth. Knowing both arguments, I've had flu shots regularly over the years hoping it either is efficacious and/or that it was good placebo, which is sometimes as good as efficacious. So far, so good, with the flu. My object in posting this is, if you "do" flu shots, late September or early October seems to be the most effective timing in terms of getting best immunity according to the CDC site, though they'd rather you get it earlier or later than not at all, all the way into the flu season in late winter. I won't try to give much advice on this, since I'm not a pro on the subject, but we're getting to prime time if you're getting a flu shot. Kids and older people benefit the most, since they have the worst time if they catch the flu.

Posted 10 months ago #
  2. cosmicfolklore

Cosmic

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I had the flu Labor Day weekend. The older I get, the harder the flu hits me. I felt like death. When I went from the doc to the pharmacist, to pick up my Theraflu, the buzzards asked me if I wanted a flu shot... too late.

Michael
    Posted 10 months ago #
  3. mso489

mso489

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Wow, Cosmic, that's a really early case. Fair warning to the rest of us. Anyone who works in a health facility or in any way with the public ought to think about a flu shot, get one if you will. Most flu is airborne from coughs and sneezes and lingers on doorknobs etc. Cosmic's description is about right.

Posted 10 months ago #
  4. warren

warren

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM