PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
As I continue careening through the halls of tobacciana, I find it interesting how one experience immediately slaps you in the face, while another may build pressure over time, like a Taco Bell lunch outing. This is one of the latter.
Every time there is a bulk blend sale, I try to grab a new flavor to try. As I work for a living, all of you retired farts manage to clean out the most popular selections before I get home. So, I review the dregs and roll the dice.
I'm now firmly a VaPer fan and my burley interest grows daily. This Delta Days, A burley infused VaPer sounded pretty good to me. I was surprised to find only 3 reviews on our favorite review site.
Part of the reason, I think, is the "lack of fireworks". I've come to find that I really like the simple tobacco flavored blends. Of course, I dig all of the fancy stuff with "layers of nuance and innuendo" throughout the flavor profile but I also really like the "meat and potato" blends. This blend is pot roast just like mom makes.
As is customary, my tin (baggie) note observations are sub-par and not worth mention. Kind of sweet, is that a hint of vinegar or my imagination? Not much more.
The Virginias in here share some characteristics of the other H&H VA's I've tried, mainly Marble Kake and Anniversary Kake. A singular bright sweetness with not too much citrus tang and no Heinz experience. A vaguely "maraschino" background.
They use the word "mahogany" to describe the burleys and I concur. If taste translated to a color chart, I think they nailed it. A nutty, somewhat woody companion to the Virginias in complete harmony. Almost a light tanin effect, think freshly hulled walnuts.