PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kuroneko

Lurker
Dec 19, 2016
Hello lovely people of the pipe world. I've been smoking pipes for around 3 years now and I would consider myself somewhat of a beginner when it comes to knowledge. In my personal experience what I've found consistently is that flakes almost always tend last better than other tobacco types. My latest example would be I got one tin of Ilsted's Golden Flake and one tin of Dunhill Nightcap two weeks ago. While the Flake is almost the same as the first day, Nightcap while still retaining that beautiful aroma and lovely flavour has now come to burn faster and hotter and therefore my enjoyment has deteriorated quite considerably. Is this a statement that you would agree or is there a mistake of my own? That's what I'd like to know.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Flakes will retain moisture longer. Try loading the pipe with Nightcap, blow through the stem of the pipe until you feel warm air rising from the bowl, and light the pipe. This will rehydrate the blend a bit and slow the burn and refresh a bit of the flavor.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Flake, coin, plug, and rope expose fewer edges than tobacco cut in smaller pieces and so definitely retain moisture longer, plug and rope best of all. They often give you a slow even smoke and will give a full-length smoke in a smaller pipe for clenching and lunting.

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
Flake or otherwise, tobacco is best jarred once the original packaging has been opened. This way it stays fresher for considerably longer, allowing the smoker to not worry about the leaf drying out.

jackswilling

Lifer
Feb 15, 2015
I like them all. Nice to load a uniform ribbon, easy peasy. But also enjoy rubbing out everything else. I like variety in presentation.I have no preference. Seems like most do, I don't. Love'em all.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida