Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pipefish

Can't Leave
Aug 25, 2013
I'm new to flake tobaccos. Do most of you rub out (or cube cut) as you go, or is it OK to rub out the entire tin and then store in a mason jar? Would rubbing out the entire tin allow for a little more drying time, and do flakes require any more (or less) drying time than ready rubbed?

mrenglish

Lifer
Dec 25, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
It really depends on the flake as to drying time. Some flakes, like Solani 633, is pretty much ready to go out of the tin but something like Full Virginia Flake will need a lot of drying time. I have a halogen lamp for another hobby and will place the tobacco on a tray under that. It puts off a decent amount of heat so it dries the tobacco rather quickly. Still, FVF or St. James Flake can take a good 20 minutes under the lamp.
I find it better to rub out before drying as once the flake is dry, it will not rub out well. You could prepare the whole tin, I typically will do enough to fill three to five bowls at a time. It will dry faster if rubbed out in my experience.

skapunk1

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
I'll cube cut thick flakes, like McClellands, and let them dry in large quantities, then ziplock and toss em in a tin.
Thin flakes I cube and dry as I go......just takes 30 min of prep....

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
You have to experiment what works best for you. I've played around with cube-cutting and usually only do it with thick cut flakes like the Gawaith stuff. For thinner flakes, I tend to leave it as is and fold and stuff. Hell, sometimes I fold and stuff the Gawaith stuff too. If you only rub-out or cube-cut in advance, then go for it but you write out the possibility to try something different with it.

spartan

Lifer
Aug 14, 2011
If you're gonna mason jar them for aging purposes then don't rub them out and then store. Them away. That's just more work than is necessary.