PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fshu2

Can't Leave
Jan 22, 2011
most people say a small bowl i believe the pickier smokers would say a billiard or apple straight pipe. i will agree on a small bowl i smoke most of my flakes out of , hold you judgment, my LOTR pipe. it has the smallest bowl and though it is a churchwarden i still enjoy the difference in the taste of the smoke as it is cool.

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011
I prefer a tall, narrow bowl for flakes. I have an M&M 5th Avenue Diplomat cob and a Dr. Grabow pick axe that I enjoy flakes with, using the fold and stuff method.

hawk60ce

Lifer
Jun 11, 2012
That's what I was thinking. Tried in one of my larger pipes because I was planning on a long smoke session but

It didn't work out well. Slowly starting to realize didn't types for different pipes and the advantages that come from it.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
I smoke my flakes in a number of different style pipes. Dublins, Apples, Billiards, Tomatoes. I prefer group 4,5 and small 6. I think the more traditional shapes smoke my flakes very nicely. I also think that flake preparation and smoking technique are also very important in being able to get the most out of your flakes.

johncorosz

Can't Leave
Sep 15, 2012
My flakes (have bright CR, University, Brown scented, Ennerdale, and about 5 others) have a slightly higher nicotene content and that various from brand to barnd. 1789 flake having the highest content I have found thus far.
As far as a good pipe for smokeing them I use a straight stem, bigger than average bowl, and packed very loose. I SIP the smoke meaning I take weeny teenie puffs every so often and ever so gently I let some get inhaled into my nose as I exhale. This is my morning ritual before work. I can say that this way I enjoy the smoke, get a nice nic. buzz for the am and I am ready to conquor to day.

martiniman

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 6, 2012