Five Year Old Capstan Gold RR

(14 posts)
  • Started 7 months ago by Panhandler
  • Latest reply from jamban
  1. rdavid

Panhandler

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Just received 4 tins of Capstan from SP. 1 each of flake and ready rubbed, blue and yellow tins.

All the tins are 2018 except for one tin of gold ready rubbed (yellow label, round tin). It’s dated Apr 2013. Can I consider this aged?

I’m really new to Virginias and so far Escudo still burns me if I’m not really careful. FVF is a little easier if I cube cut and dry but still likes to bite a little. Russ Oullett’s Acadian VaPer smokes like a dream and I love this stuff.

Reading reviews on Capstan looks like a good step towards full Virginias. Anyway, will the 2013 tin be worth opening now or should I give it more time? Thanks.

"May my last breath be drawn through a pipe, and exhaled in a jest." Charles Lamb
    Posted 7 months ago #
  2. jmill208

jmill208

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I’d say give it ten more minutes, then dive right in. It’ll be perfect.

Seriously, 5 years should be plenty. Enjoy it.

Posted 7 months ago #
  3. workman

workman

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I haven't tried an aged tin yet, but I am sampling all the virginias I can get my hands on and leaving some to age.
    I think 5 years would make it an aged blend, but I would advice you to try some of the newer tins first, to get an impression of what you're dealing with and to get some experience to measure the aged tin against.

Smoking is one of the leading causes of all statistics.
    Posted 7 months ago #
  4. npod

npod

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Capstan is not just a step towards Virginia blends, it’s a leap directly at bullseye. It’s a classic. IMHO 5 years is good, I recommend smoking now. Then order a few tins to age.

Neal
    Posted 7 months ago #
  5. jacks6

jacks6

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Completely agree that Acadian Vaper is amazing

Posted 7 months ago #
  6. rdavid