First week - Many, Many Questions... Beginner help pls!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

piperbole

Lurker
May 13, 2019
Cheshire
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the pipe-smoking scene and am having a few questions right from the offset.
First off, apologies if I completely butcher the art of this tradition, I'll try and be as accurate as I can but sometimes a brief description of things "as I see them" might have to be the order of the day.
I've got the following gear:
2 Pipes.

- One new, it's a straight pipe, Passatore, it's black in the bowl which leads me to believe it's already somewhat "broken in"

- One used (passed down) Dr. Plumb? pipe. I've been using this one for my debut and following smokes I've had.
Some baccy

- It's an English blend, smells nice, it's in strands, don't know what you'd call that.

- ** I've ordered a sampler of 5 different tobaccos, which contains:

- 1 x Robert McConnell Scottish Cake Pipe Tobacco - 10g

- 1 x Samuel Gawith FireDance Flake Pipe Tobacco - 10g

- 1 x Rattrays Westminster Abbey Pipe Tobacco- 10g

- 1 x Robert McConnell Glen Piper Pipe Tobacco - 10g

- 1 x Rattrays Buckingham Pipe Tobacco - 10g

It's not expensive and believe would give me the best variance.
A tool

A Pipe Lighter

So I've finally gotten round to smoking, litten it up thrice.
I've read a lot of stuff on this forum regarding packing the pipe, but I'm having reservations about my technique.
FIRST SMOKE:

I packed my pipe, using the method of putting baccy in, pressing it to halfway, then more baccy and pressing to 3/4 then more baccy to just below the rim. I lit the top of the baccy taking a few puffs, then pressed it down, so there was a definite ash on the top, but packed down. I then re-lit taking bigger puffs, had a few more, then it seemed to stop smoking.