PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobandmike1

Lurker
Apr 3, 2013
Hi, I'm new to smoking in general; I had my first cigar only a couple weeks ago. I liked the cigar, but I have decided that I would like to give a pipe a try. I would have tried a while ago, but there are so many types of tobaccos and different blends and what not and it is very intimidating. My question is: what are some good beginner tobaccos that I can try to see what all I like?

brassonly

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 3, 2012
I myself am a pretty new pipe smoker . I have only been smoking about 8 months now. I have tried 15 different tobacco blends so far & am really enjoying the vast amount of tobacco choices available to choose from. From my experience so far I would also recommend Lane's 1Q. Its a very mild flavourful tobacco that has become my go to tobacco. I Have never experienced togue bite with 1Q ,its always a very enjoyable smoke for me.It definately is worth giving it a try, its sold in bulk & prices are really good which is also very nice.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
The fellas have given you some good advice so far. Welcome to the forum and the hobby. Enjoy the journey!

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
Welcome!
I moved to non-aromatics (often called "English" blends) very early on, but I'm currently revisiting the very first tobacco I ever smoked back in 1980: Tinder Box's North Sea, which is their house name for Peter Stokkebye's Nougat. And even though I only rarely smoke aromatics these days, I have to say that I've really enjoyed this one. A lot of that is probably due to the memories I now associate with the aroma. But it's also a cool smoking, dry tobacco with a very mild flavoring of cocoa and vanilla. Very pleasant, and the kind of thing you could smoke all day without fatigue.