PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

frizzman4

Lurker
Aug 4, 2019
I’m just getting started in the pipe smoking world.
First, what do I actually need. I’ve bought a pipe, so what else do I need.
Second, because I don’t have a taste for anything yet, what are some recommendations for a first timer to get a general experience of different tastes/flavors to figure out what I like? Maybe a top 5 list of tobaccos to start with?
Thanks for the help!
John

trubka2

Lifer
Feb 27, 2019
Just the minimum would be:
Pipe - check.

Lighter or matches (a Bic is fine, but no cigar torches)-

Tobacco -

A store of patience -
You might also want:

- Pipe cleaners

- A tamper (or golf tee or big-headed nail) or a pipe tool (the so-called "Czech Tool" is a good cheap option)

- An ashtray

- A chair

- Instructions on how to pack and smoke the pipe (try Youtube)
Possible tobacco that's fairly cheap, easy to find, and easy to smoke and enjoy:

- Carter Hall

- Granger

- Sir Walter Raleigh
If you have questions, ask away - there are lots of people here happy to help!

shayde

Can't Leave
Oct 4, 2013
Are you looking for tobacco recommendations for an online purchase or an in store purchase?

madox07

Lifer
Dec 12, 2016
If you have a brick and mortar in you area I would definitely check that out. I remember when I picked up smoking back in 2006 I got started with all I needed, including advice, by the local tobacconist. That was piper world in Austin Texas, and some habits I have formed on those early days stuck with me over the years, in spite of the fact that I have evolved in technique and taste. Sure you can read online, or watch videos, but having somebody to actually show you the ropes - packing, lighting, tamping, recommending tobacco, etc. goes a long way.

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Near Toronto, Ontario, Canada