PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

probester

Lurker
Jul 18, 2015
So, I ordered a few things and smoked my first pipe today and was just looking for some answers.
I ordered a Dr. Grabow Omega

1 oz. of Captain Black Dark

1 oz. of Carter Hall

A Pipe Tool
So today, I packed a pipe and lit up. I tried Carter Hall first. It was okay. I only smoked for about 10 minutes maybe. Then this evening I tried Captain Black Dark and really enjoyed it. I like the sweeter flavor.
So, from my research I have read that I probably don't want to do what I did today: smoke aromatic and non aromatic in the same pipe?
Also, I only smoked this evening again for 10-15 minutes. I also read that I need to let the pipe cool before emptying any tobacco and/or ash out of it. Question: I only smoked about half of the bowl, so can I finish it tomorrow or is that not a good idea?
I have no smoking experience with anything. Never smoked or used tobacco before, so I am really apprehensive of becoming sick and throwing up because I absolutely hate throwing up (who likes it????). So I was looking for advice on beginning this hobby and not getting sick. I keep a cup of water with me and sip on it. So far, I have not felt any nicotine but perhaps only because of the short length of time that I have been smoking.
Several more questions are coming to mind, but those can wait. These are my main questions and thoughts on my first time.
I appreciate any guidance you can provide me. I think this will be a really enjoyable hobby for me. I'm just 21, 22 next month, so I guess not many young guys do this, but I think its pretty cool and I like that is different.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Welcome to the forum. OK, you've chosen 2 blends to try and I would not worry about smoking them in the same pipe as neither should drastically affect the other. The key to pipe smoking is packing and cadence.