PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jiujitsubowl

Can't Leave
May 19, 2015
Muskegon Michigan
Hey guys, i am still pretty new to the hobby and the forums. I have been prowling around the beginners forums religiously haha. Out for delivery today is my first pipe and tobacco purchase. I got a Dr. Grabow Duke (smaller bowl) and a 4 tin sampler from pipesandcigars.com (dunhill night cap, cult blood moon, out of office locked out, and east india cellar reserve). Anyone tried these smokes? Or have experience with a Dr. Grabow Duke pipe?
Thanks Guys!

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
I don't have any experience with either Dr. Grabow pipes or the tobaccos in that sampler pack. The Grabow pipe has a long history in American pipe manufacture, and I'm sure it will work well for you. And based on tin descriptions and reviews, the tobaccos aren't in the style that I prefer. But, since I missed your first post, I wanted to take this opportunity to welcome you to the forums and the culture of indulgence in luxury pipe tobacco.

jiujitsubowl

Can't Leave
May 19, 2015
Muskegon Michigan
Thanks Cortez. Yea when i decided to grab the tins i selected, i went mostly mild aromatics (was suggested to me to do so) and one stronger fuller smoke (night cap). I am sure i will taste everything under the sun for awhile so the smaller bowl pipe should work in my favor. What suggestions do you have on good tobacco choices? What are your every day smokes compared to your break it out on the weekend smokes?

dulgunz

Can't Leave
Feb 11, 2015
Welcome to the forums and the brotherhood! I have a Dr. G Silver Duke, it is a small pipe, but smokes wonderfully. Do not be fooled by the price, Dr. G pipes are very good smokers.

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013