PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kendodan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 22, 2013
So, I am pretty new to the art. I have been smoking/piping (what verb should I use here??) for about a month and enjoy it quite a lot. Here is my initial post: http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/greetings-and-a-few-questions#post-501598 I enjoyed FMOTT a lot. 1Q was ok but the main point was my girlfriend enjoyed the aroma so for now I rotate FMOTT and 1Q. It makes her happy at least.
I was going to make an order on 4noggins consisting of: Frog Morton Cellar, McClelland Holiday Spirit, Dunhill Nightcap and (heres my problem) Dunhill Flake. BUT the Flake is out of stock and I was really interested in trying a flake. Can anyone suggest another Flake, or should I wait for 4noggins to restock and how long do you think that would last?
Thanks a lot in advance!

dryseason91

Can't Leave
Oct 10, 2013
Dublin, Ireland
Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake is supposed to be very similar, although I haven't tried it. There also plenty out there that aren't straight virginias. Peterson University Flake - virginias, burleys, Kentucky and some plum topping - is also a good bet.

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
Welcome to the forum! Sounds like a nice order, if you are dead set on trying a flake, give Peterson University Flake a try. I'm not a big flake guy, but it's a decent smoke. As far as a flake/cake/plug form is concerned, I prefer Hearth & Home "10 To Midnight" (available at Pipesandcigars.com). It's a cake style, Latakia forward tobacco, and it's by far my favorite!

skapunk1

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
Peter Stokebyes Lux Navy Flake is also a good place to start, its bulk, cheap, and im sure Rich would put in a sample of it upon request.

JimInks

Sultan of Smoke
Aug 31, 2012
If you can't wait for the Dunhill Flake to be in stock, try Capstan Blue or Yellow, the latter being closer to DF than the former, though I prefer the Blue.

bryanf